Energy of Instinct


Chakras are thought of as wheels or vortices of energy. In alignment with the spine, mostly seen through the nadis, the esoteric centers of energy located in the central channel of the body in the practice of kundalini yoga. Chakras are perceived as focal points for receiving and channeling energy throughout centers of the body and organs, and glands in the endocrine system.  This concept’s origin is in Hindu texts. The Chakras are believed to influence bodily functions and the nervous system.  The Chakras help balance out the physical body and the elements of nature, starting at the spine, the sacred seat of the physical and subtle body.

The Chakras are:

Muladhara: Base or root Chakra, associated with the ovaries and prostate. Embedded in this chakra is instinct, survival and basic human potential, sexuality. Located in the perineum and associated with the sympathetic nervous system. Represented as the color red.

Swadhistana: Sacral Chakra; Located in the sacrum and associated with the sex organs, and reproductive system. Associated with the adrenal glands, relationships, emoitnal needs, pleasure, and violence.  The color is orange.

Manipura: The solar plexus; Connected to Metabolic and Digestive Systems, groups of cells in the pancreas, as well as the outer adrenal glands and the adrenal cortex. The color that corresponds to Manipura is yellow. Key issues governed by Manipura are issues of personal power, fear, anxiety, opinion-formation, introversion, and transition from simple or base emotions to complex.

Anahata: The Heart Chakra; The color of this chakra is green and related to the Thymus in the chest and connected directly to the immune system.  Governs circulation, complex emotions and well being.

Visshuda: Throat Chakra. Thyroid gland. Color pale blue. This Chakra is responsible for communication, growth and maturation.

Ajna: Third eye; Color purple, Indigo. This Chakra is linked to the third eye and the pineal gland which produces the hormone melatonin aiding with sleeping and waking. The third eye signifies intuition.

Sahasrara: Crown; Color white. Associated with wisdom and the leaving of the body with death.  This Chakra relates to the pituitary gland and endocrine system, the central nervous system, uniting male and female energy and the connection between meditation and the physical body.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s